Five Reasons You Need to add San Carlos, Colombia, to your Must-See List

6 Rivers and over 100 waterfalls give San Carlos the title of the most naturally beautiful town in Colombia

Sara Burdick
The Expat Chronicles

--

The first waterfall on the way to La Vieja, photo by me!

San Carlos, Colombia, a pueblo I have called home since the end of July 2021. When I arrived, I had no idea what to expect, nor that I would still be living here.

Like a tumbleweed, I go where my heart desires; sometimes, I stay longer, and sometimes the wind pushes me on. So after living here for almost a year, I have a few recommendations.

Before I get into the nuts and bolts, I want to discuss logistics.

How do I get to San Carlos?

The easiest and cheapest way is to take the bus from the North Terminal bus station in Medellin. To get to the north terminal, take an Uber, cab, or the metro.

Taking the metro and getting off at Caribe will cost you approximately 2930 pesos (.75 cents) one way.

Take line A towards Niquia. I am assuming you are coming from the tourist area of Poblado! An uber will cost you around 15K pesos, 3.84USD.

I recommend the metro! It is cheaper and more accessible.

--

--

Sara Burdick
The Expat Chronicles

I quit the rat race after working as a nurse for 16 years. Travel and Storyteller. I live in Colombia. https://linktr.ee/saraaliceburdick