How I Honor My Latin Heritage in Canada as an Expat

A proud Mexican who embraces her culture and takes it everywhere she goes.

Gladys Carmina
The Expat Chronicles

--

Photo by Luis Vidal on Unsplash

If you love your country, why do you no longer live in Mexico? — You should ask.

All you have to know is that love brought me to Canada after learning lessons from a long-distance relationship. I live in Canada for two years now.

In a Mexican calendar, I missed twice these important festivities and memo days.

  • Día de Reyes: Your family gathers and eats a delicious king cake. If you find little Jesus, you should bring Tamales on February 2nd.
  • Tamales day: You gather with your friends and family to eat tamales and drink atole; a corn beverage, usually chocolate flavoured.
  • 5 de Mayo: I am from Puebla, the place where the Batlle of Puebla took place on May 5th of 1862. Every 5 de Mayo in my city we commemorate it with a parade. Anywhere else in Mexico is a normal day.
  • Independence day: You gather with your friends and family to eat authentic Mexican food. Drink tequila, get drunk. Sing Mexican rancheras. Ah yes, you reaffirm your Mexicanity by singing the hymn.
  • Día de muertos: You set up an ofrenda t your…

--

--