My Year of Living Dangerously

Christina Hoag
The Expat Chronicles
18 min readAug 23, 2023

--

Moving to Guatemala resulted in learning many things I never expected.

The author bargains with a seller of old furniture on the street.
The author learns to haggle. All photos by Christina Hoag.

The first morning of my new life in Guatemala I electrocuted myself.

I’d arrived late the previous night with my Guatemalan boyfriend with the optimistic plan to live there. The next morning, I stepped into the shower in our cheap hotel, eyeing an odd contraption on the shower head. It had a heat setting so I figured…

--

--

Christina Hoag
The Expat Chronicles

Journalist, novelist, world traveller. Author of novels Law of the Jungle, Skin of Tattoos and Girl on the Brink. Ex Latin America foreign correspondent.