LIFE LESSONS/INSPIRATION/TRAVEL

Reflections on Living as an Expat in Paris

Expat life has its own set of challenges, but it also has the potential to provide unique adventures and experiences

B.R. Shenoy
The Expat Chronicles
6 min readMar 24, 2021

--

Eiffel Tower in Paris
Image by Nuno Lopes from Pixabay

“Life might be difficult for a while, but I would tough it out because living in a foreign country is one of those things that everyone should try at least once. My understanding was that it completed a person, sanding down the rough provincial edges and transforming you into a citizen of the world.” — David Sedaris

Ah, Paris! The City of Lights! The City of Love! The City of Haute Couture! The city conjures up such vivid images in my mind.

I had the good fortune not only to honeymoon in Paris for a week in the mid-1990s, but also to reside there as an expatriate for 18 months in the early aughts.

I had holidayed in Paris with my family for a few days as a young girl in the late 1970s as well.

Lucky me, you think? I must live a charmed life. Au contraire. Life…

--

--

B.R. Shenoy
The Expat Chronicles

Avid Globetrotter• Expat on 3 Continents•12x Boosted Writer•Editor:The Shortform• NewsBreak Writer•https://brshenoy.substack.com•M.S. Toxicology •Proud Mom of 2