Travel. Expat life. South Korea.

Trying to Fit into Korea’s One Size Fits All Beauty Standards

What’s it like to not fit the mould?

Sh*t Happens - Lost Girl Travel
The Expat Chronicles
5 min readFeb 10, 2021

--

Image by PublicDomainPictures from Pixabay

Shopping in South Korea

I loved Korea’s vast underground shopping malls. Mazes of the wonder that is Korean skincare, beauty and makeup. Blemish balm (BB) creams, snail serums, volcanic clay masks, foot peel socks, great sugar scrubs, and beautiful lip stains, to name a few. One of my biggest regrets is not filling up a suitcase of these goodies when I left!

Oh, the wonders of underground shopping, dolly hair clips, cat ear Alice bands, geek glasses with no glass, giant bumble bee phone cases, panda face masks, and that’s just for the adults.

My friend and I going a bit mad in the accessory shops! (Photo credit to the author)

I adored the delightful, cute, preppy clothes in the stores but as I looked around these shops two things dawned on me:

A) There are no changing rooms.

B) These clothes have no sizes on them.

Why? Because these clothes are “Free size.” What does that mean? It means one size fits all.

--

--

Sh*t Happens - Lost Girl Travel
The Expat Chronicles

Hi! I’m Georgie and I share travel stories of when sh*t happens. I think that sometimes the worst things that happen to you traveling, are often the funniest