The problem is not in how much time you have but in how you use your time

Matthew Pitrola
The Exploration of Time Management
2 min readSep 25, 2017

Time is an odd thing in our lives, everyone from around the world wishes they can have more. Time is something that nobody is in control of, it is going to keep on ticking along forever.Well It’s time for everybody to stop wishing for time and it is time for us to make better use of our time! What really inspired this vision in me was the document called Techniques of Time Management by H. Kent Baker from our trip to Lockwood. His whole article is on time management and he really focuses on how we can use our limited amount of time more effectively. During the read he focuses on 3 major topics questions, they are where does my time go, where should my time go and how can I use my time better. (Techniques of Time Management, Baker) He makes it a point throughout his document that we can never get more time and we must start making the most out of the time that we do already have. I can really relate to what he is saying, I am constantly wishing for more time and find myself stressing over simple tasks that shouldn’t be so time consuming. Baker talks about setting goals and even making a list of priorities. This sounds like what I am already doing but even more strategic and planned out. Baker says “determine what you really want to accomplish. This requires setting long and short-range goals and allocating specific blocks of time for each.” I like this planning method because it lets you see ahead of time how much time you are going to have to accomplish different tasks. You can allocate yourself time depending on the difficulty of the task and am going to be employing this technique in my daily life. The last great part of the document was his section on the ten useful tips for time management, there was some key tips in here. My favorite was to tackle tough jobs first, and this is something that I could not agree with more. Baker mentions how we try to get done the menial tasks first and then work up to the big project. This is the wrong way of doing things, when we use our most productive times to do menial tasks the important ones never get done, we should be putting our best effort towards getting the big project done while we still have our energy early in the day and then save the petty tasks for later when our main goal is complete.

Baker, H. K. (1979). Techniques of time management (pp. 1–7). Washington: Small Business Administration.

--

--