‘A Review of the August Lock’

Drew Coffman
The Extratextual
2 min readDec 7, 2016

--

Moving into a new house, one of the projects I was most excited about was making the home ‘smart’.

Though I had previously dabbled with smart home tech, previous systems I used never turned out to be as convenient as I hoped — but due to iOS 10’s system-level support of HomeKit (with a pane in Control Center), that’s beginning to change.

I outfitted my house with lightbulbs, a few switches, a thermostat, and a lock, and I reviewed that lock (the August, to be precise) for Tools & Toys.

If you’re using HomeKit, the August is certainly worth looking at. It’s a modern and beautiful device, that works more conveniently than smart locks of the past because of Apple’s native support. As I said in the review:

This native smart home management system solves one of the biggest problems of the technology as a whole: the aforementioned fiddling with an app to start any action. Is it quicker to unlock your phone, pull up the August app, wait for the lock to load, and tap a button, or simply go the old fashioned route and put a key in a slot and turn your wrist?

The beauty of HomeKit is that it takes quite a few steps out of every smart home action, while at the same time creating a HUB where every device can be found in one place. By swiping up Control Center and tapping the August lock’s button, the lock opens. This is much more convenient than any other smart home method I’ve ever tried.

If you’re interested in locking your doors with a tap of the thumb, no matter where you are, give this review a read.

--

--