A Year of Books, the Medium Publication

Drew Coffman
The Extratextual

--

As I said a couple of years ago when I began writing here, the initial purpose (and very meaning) of Extratextuals is to expose and explore an extra layer of depth in works of art that I love as well as the world around me.

Now I have a new project that I think compliments this vision well, which I’ve simply titled ‘Year of Books’. This is a space to do one specific thing: publish notes on the books I’ve read which profoundly impact me in some way.

This is not unlike (and draws great inspiration from) Derek Sivers’ own Books page, which I’ve found incredibly helpful as I consider which books to read or am looking for information on a particular subject. It is, to me, beneficial to see a book through someone else’s eyes, not unlikes ‘CliffsNotes’ processed through a particular person’s views and opinions. My notes pages are in no way definitive, and many of them only pay particular attention to a particular aspect or narrative I see running through a book. That’s the beauty of the longform; that there can be several stories interwoven into one, and that each person is able to take away something slightly (or profoundly) different.

This page will likely see an update or two every week. Here’s to reading.

--

--