Angry message

The Bellwether
The Eye Investigates
3 min readJan 20, 2017

Carwyn is not blind to the message he did send out

Edwin Phillips sits in on a crisis meeting between Welsh First Minister Carwyn Jones (CJ) and one of his ‘special advisers’ (SPAD) after huge criticism that he did not release a separate New Year message, following the momentous event of the vote in Wales to leave the EU.

CJ: (Angrily) I’m really getting it in the neck now!

SPAD: (Stares at shoes) I’m deeply sorry First Minister.

CJ: (Still angry) everyone else did a New Year message except me!

Now even people in my own party are having a go at me.

That appalling website The Eye spoke to one who apparently told them he couldn’t believe it.

The First Minister shows his SPAD what people are saying about him

I’ll read it to you in fact.

(Clears throat) “It is incredible — everyone else did one with so much happening.

“How does that make Wales look?”

SPAD: (Still staring at shoes) we are all very sorry, First Minister.

CJ: Well, it’s not good enough.

I expect more from my staff!

You told me to put it in my Christmas message.

SPAD: Well, er, I thought that would be OK.

Huge events like leaving the EU could be devastating for Wales

I thought we could try something new this year.

CJ: Yes but not this year of all years!

We have just voted to leave the EU, for God’s sake, probably the biggest event in almost two generations.

(Mumbling) Even I said during that awful referendum campaign it was bigger than the devolution vote.

(Louder) that odious woman Theresa (May) is triggering Article 50 to start the process in March.

The Tory Prime Minister did a New Year message OF COURSE, and SHE said it was a time of “opportunities”.

What a load of nonsense.

Nicola Sturgeon’s New Year message made no mention of Suzi Quatro

(To self) she could be right.

SPAD: (Coughs) well, er, you were wrong earlier First Minister — not everyone did one.

CJ: (Angry again) who exactly apart from your mother?

Nicola (Sturgeon) did one.

(Quietly) another irritating woman.

In fact all those politicos in Scotland did one.

Why can’t we be more like them?

SPAD: (Quietly) we don’t want to do that…

--

--