Students’ Voice

A College Student’s Guide to College

Advice from someone on the inside

Kels T.
The Faculty
Published in
6 min readMay 17, 2020

--

Photo by Andre Hunter on Unsplash

My sister is sitting beside me right now, torn between offers from four different colleges. She had good results. I didn’t. But here I am, still alive, writing, kind of happy. Apparently, her friend had received an offer to study International Relations and accepted it immediately. Meanwhile, she is torn between Engineering, Humanities, Occupational Therapy, and Biology, each at a different school. She fervently texts seniors for advice on the programs, but the more she learns about each course, the more indecisive she becomes. I tell her that instead of learning about the courses, she should be learning about herself. She looks at me and says, “I don’t really know who I am.”

Here are some things I will share with her.

Recognise that college is an individual endeavour

This is no longer about your friends. This is no longer about what your parents think. This is about you. College is very much an individual experience. You decide what you want to do, why you want to do it, and you steer the ship for how these experiences are going to shape your future. People can give you advice but ultimately the decisions are yours to make. No one is going to chide you for cutting…

--

--

Kels T.
The Faculty

this english major’s little experiments | twitter: @kelstwrites