The Easiest Way to Record a Presentation

3 steps to recording your presentation for online delivery

Rebecca LeBard
The Faculty

--

Photo of a laptop
Photo by John Schnobrich on Unsplash

COVID-19 restrictions came in when I was half way through delivering a biology course to around 700 students. Within days face-to-face teaching was no longer possible and classes needed to move online. I wanted to use the easiest way to record my lectures, leaving more time to address challenges such as how to have students isolate DNA at home.

I chose Microsoft Powerpoint as it is an application I, and most people, are familiar with.

I didn’t add my face as a ‘talking head’ as I felt it would not add much value throughout the lecture when I couldn’t see the audience I was engaging with. And as the lecture recordings at my institution generally only capture the screen this format is what my students were familiar with.

If you do think featuring yourself would make the presentation more personal, one option I tried was recording two pieces to camera and using imovie to add these at the start and end of the lecture — these provided context and a conclusion. I find imovie quite easy to use as you can even film and edit a presentation on your iphone!

The recording feature of Powerpoint is particularly efficient as you record each slide separately. This makes it easy to repeat a…

--

--

Rebecca LeBard
The Faculty

I am a Scientist BSc (hons) PhD and Educator MEd (higher education) | I write about higher education, science, science education and balancing life.