Becoming A Dharmic Researcher: A Responsibility, Not A Right

Academic Ethics & Hinduism

Indu Viswanathan, Ed.D.
The Faculty

--

नमस्ते शारदे देवी काश्मीरपुरवासिनि Namaste Sharade Devi Kashmira Pura Vasini
Salutations to Devi Sharada, Who abides in the abode of Kashmira, To You, O Devi, I always pray for Knowledge. Please bestow on me the gift of that Knowledge which illuminates everything from within. (Photo credit: Sumita Ambasta)

The Video

I keep going back to that moment in the now-viral 2019 video, where Audrey Truschke, a history professor at Rutgers University, “responds” to Dr. Murali, an audience member while giving a talk in India. (I unpacked the moment here.) Murali questions Truschke about her right to do research on Aurangzeb. He situates this question very clearly in the context of the history of genocide of Native Americans in the United States.

[Can a] descendant of a genocidal people sit as a judge? Is that moral or fair? [crowd shouts more] Yes, that nation stands on the dead bodies of Native Americans! What right does she have to come here and poke her nose into our history? [crowd is roaring, speaker raises his voice to be heard No! Be Fair! Be Fair! Be Fair! Be fair! Is this justice?

Truschke responds:

What right do I have to come comment on Indian history? I am a trained historian. I read Sanskrit. I read Persian. Many people cannot handle a woman talking and feel the need to scream over her. [crowd claps and cheers]

As a new scholar, just emerging from an intense five years of learning how to practice ethical, rigorous research, my jaw drops every time I hear her…

--

--

Indu Viswanathan, Ed.D.
The Faculty

Mother | Daughter | Immigration & Teacher Education | Dharma | Lokah Samastah Sukhino Bhavantu