How to get Undergraduate Research Positions

Lab experience during undergrad is an extremely valuable learning experience, but it is often hard to come by. Here are a few places to look for opportunities and tips to get the job!

Sarah Grech
The Faculty
5 min readJun 29, 2020

--

Photo by National Cancer Institute on Unsplash

During my undergraduate experience at the University of Toronto, I worked at two labs. These experiences allowed me to put into practice all the biology, immunology, and chemistry lessons I learned throughout my degree. I learned more through the hands-on experience of the lab than I did in any course, and I loved every minute of it.

I started volunteering in labs during the second year, and I encourage everyone to start early. Yet starting early can be difficult, as it is often hard to navigate the various opportunities. Hopefully, this list will help you start your search for research positions!

Cold Calls

This is the technique I used to land both of my lab positions, yet many people are scared of cold calling as they fear being rejected or annoying a professor, or they simply do not think it will work. Although you will have to e-mail several people, and will probably get a few rejections, that is fine! Keep reaching out and take rejection with grace.

To decide who to cold call, I scoured the department website. I read the bio of every single prof and kept notes on the ones that interested me. I then chose my top five and read one or two of their recent papers. This gave me an idea of the type of research they do. I also identified any techniques that I had some experience in from lab courses and highlighted those on my resume.

I then e-mailed the profs. I made each note personal. I talked about myself and attached my transcript and CV. But I also talked about them. I mentioned the paper of theirs I had read and why I thought it was interesting, and potentially asked a question about it. This shows the professor that you are serious, and are not just e-mailing every single professor in the department (I do not recommend this approach — it is better to spend time targeting labs that interest you and putting effort into your cold calls than applying everywhere).

If in two weeks you only hear No, try again! Look for new professors and maybe branch out to a different but related department.

You may also choose to approach professors whose classes you are taking. This can be helpful as they already know you and your abilities (always go to office hours!) and may be more willing to offer you a position.

Research Courses

I took a thesis course in my final year of undergrad, continuing in the lab in which I did my summer research. But for many research courses, you do not need to have a lab lined up. Many research courses post the labs and projects accepting students, or simply give applicants’ resumes to professors looking for students.

The thesis course provided me the opportunity to not just do the work, but also practice communicating my work to others. These courses require you to write up your work into a thesis, and often present it, allowing you to learn key communication skills.

Research courses can include a thesis project as I took, but many universities offer courses for second and third-year students to gain lab experience. Check your university and department for research courses aimed at your level of study.

Photo by ThisisEngineering RAEng on Unsplash

Work Study

You may only think of work-study positions as cashier jobs at the university bookstore, or shelving books at the library, but many work-study positions are in research!

Often these lab jobs are less flexible than other lab positions. For example, you may be doing one specific assay over and over, or doing a literature review. Positions like these allow you to really hone your skills in one task and are a great way to find lab positions.

The benefit of work studies, unlike some other ways of getting into a lab, like taking a course, is that they pay it. This also means they are often very competitive.

Summer Studentships

Summer studentships are lab positions held over the summer that usually come with a small stipend. These positions are great, as you get to spend all summer fully immersed in the lab. I did two summer studentships during undergrad and loved being in the lab daily. This way you really get to learn the daily operations of the lab, form close relationships with your colleagues, and often have the opportunity to try to learn various lab techniques.

These positions are often available through the department. Make sure to check early, however, as applications can begin as early as January.

Photo by Kyle Glenn on Unsplash

International Opportunities

This is one thing I wish I had taken advantage of during my undergrad. International research experiences are really the best of both worlds, they allow you to travel and gain valuable work experience!

These positions can be harder to find that the other ones listed here, as they are often offered by a variety of departments and offices within a school. You may find these opportunities from your own department, international experience fairs, and even just googling programs at your dream university. Check out your school's international experience office if they have one for guidance finding these opportunities.

My only caution about international opportunities is that they can often be expensive. Scholarships may be available to cover part of the trip, and sometimes host universities offer free or discounted accommodations.

Lab Courses

If after trying all these other methods, you cannot land research positions, you can always enroll yourself in upper-year lab courses.

In these courses you often do not get your own project, much of the troubleshooting is done for you, and you do not get the benefits of belonging to a lab. Despite the downsides, you still are exposed to a variety of lab techniques, and often get practice writing up lab reports.

The experience gained from a lab course will help you land a research position next time around! During an interview make sure to stress the skills you have learned in these classes, and an openness to learning additional things.

--

--

Sarah Grech
The Faculty

Immunology and Infectious Disease Researcher | Science Communicator | McGill Microbiology and Immunology MSc Student | BSc Immunology & Evolutionary Anthro UofT