In Defense of Anthropology

As a life science student, I was always asked why I chose anthropology as my second major. Here is why.

Sarah Grech
The Faculty
3 min readJul 6, 2020

--

Photo by Johannes Plenio on Unsplash

At university, I obtained a double major in immunology and evolutionary anthropology. Evolutionary, or biological anthropology is the study of human evolution, in terms of both behavior and physiology. To anthropologists, this combination made a ton of sense, but to classic scientists, it seems extremely odd. To me, the relationship between my two passions was perfect.

What interests me most about immunology is our body’s ability to fight off infectious diseases. To me, infectious diseases are more interesting than other topics, such as autoimmune conditions or cancer, because of their seeming prevent-ability. Unlike other types of disease, the cause of infections are known. We can easily identify the bacteria, virus, fungi, prion or parasite that leads to the pathology.

Shouldn’t it be simple to treat and prevent all infectious diseases?

This is the question that really peaks my interest, and in my opinion, this question cannot be answered with only an immunological and microbiological understanding of the infection. Infectious diseases are indisputably tied to human social patterns and innate susceptibilities.

Microscopic image of the Ebola virus. Photo by CDC on Unsplash

Through my anthropology courses, I came to understand the origins of evolutionary trade-offs that the human body underwent due to natural selection. I also learned about human cultures in regards to health and medicine, and the cultural factors that allow infectious diseases to spread. A perfect example being funerary practices that require close contact with the dead but also facilitate the spread of Ebola.

My anthropology major also provided me with the knowledge, and skills that my immunology courses did not provide. Many required essays and seminars. I do not fear writing or presenting, like many of my classmates in immunology. Instead, I enjoy communicating what I learn, almost as much as I enjoy learning it myself.

I had to think in a way that looked at the bigger picture, to understand the ultimate causes of disease, and not only focus on the proximate deficiencies or vulnerabilities that allow for infection. My combination of degrees taught me to both ask about the bigger why questions, and also the small-scale how questions.

Most importantly, I loved my anthropology degree. I loved my time in what I termed “the bone room”, where I got to hold casts of various hominins. I appreciate my study of the human skeletal system and my deep understanding of human evolution. I think these lessons will follow me throughout life, deepening my understanding of the world and the people around me.

--

--

Sarah Grech
The Faculty

Immunology and Infectious Disease Researcher | Science Communicator | McGill Microbiology and Immunology MSc Student | BSc Immunology & Evolutionary Anthro UofT