Not a morning person?

”I believe there should be a better way to start each day… instead of waking up every morning.”

Anita Sud
The Faculty
4 min readNov 16, 2019

--

Photo by Lauren Kay on Unsplash

Having spent most of my professional life in schools, I have perforce become a morning person.

For all the years I worked, the only thing that I could never reconcile to was the early morning start that was enforced on me. However, when there is no choice you accept the inevitable and mold yourself accordingly.

Photo by Milan Popovic for Unsplash

Waking up early, what to me seemed an unearthly hour, showering when most people are deep in slumber, setting off to work while it was still dark in winter became a norm.

By the time I would reach school, all remnants of sleep and lethargy would be replaced by alertness and a feeling of wellbeing that early morning induces.

At school, I was energetic and greeted my colleagues and students with the chirpiest of “good mornings” and exuberance that did not exist an hour ago.

A cup of tea would kickstart my workday with promise, the positive energy around was infectious, and the enthusiasm and chitter- the chatter of kids just made work so enjoyable.

Photo by SOCIAL. CUT for Unsplash

Mornings are beautiful and once you overcome the reluctance and step out of your bed and home, you appreciate nature in its full glory.

The clear skies, trees in their full glory with birds perched upon branches, chirping away and the abundant intake of oxygen added that so needed spring in my stride.

Succumbing to a school routine of action-packed mornings, I would often be surprised if I made a phone call to an acquaintance at nine a.m. to hear a sleepy response from the other end.

My vocation made me a morning person. Married to an army man, whose day started even earlier than mine, we woke early and wound up our day at a reasonable hour, ensuring we had our eight hours of beauty sleep.

Routine and discipline were somethings I have learned to appreciate and inculcate and following a time- table keeps me happy and going.

At school, I would see an odd colleague enter school yawning, sleepy and lethargic. During the course of the day, black coffee would bring the required change, and alertness a teacher was required to possess.

I earlier had a boss at school who was not a morning person. She had no definitive time of arrival and would be unsmiling and irritable when she came in. To avoid an unhappy encounter, staff devised ways of becoming invisible for the first hour after which the shift occurred and she was less cranky and more open to dialogues and meeting staff.

Surprisingly, my daughter is not a morning person. Much to her dad’s dismay, she very grudgingly forces herself awake to make it to her morning gym classes. Attempts at conversation when she is waking up is met with deadly silence or a snappy reaction.

I have learned to keep my distance and to avoid any meaningful conversation in the morning.

My husband, who is his most talkative early morning, has found a responsive companion in our dog, Leo.

Both are morning people… Leo is his friskiest best, playful and communicative and they spend quality time together. He is fully attentive to his needs.

Photo by Nick Fewings for Unsplash

My husband’s yoga is matched by Leo who does his “doga” with corresponding stretches and giving him the companionship of his family is reluctant to at that hour.

Chapati, our daughter’s cat, is tolerant of her grandfather’s morning antics on his visits, keeping an eye on him from a safe distance.

She has also figured out that he is very easy to manipulate to feeding her time and again. All that she needs to do is go up to him, meow and look into his eyes, and much to her delight, he will feed her with all the delicacies she likes.

I tend to believe that it is your routine and your work that sets your body clock.

What motivates you?

Photo by Valentina Condi

Your hobbies, activities, and the company you are drawn to formulate your habits.

There are so many who are late risers, yet achieve the same goals as a morning person. There are people who feel more active in the evenings, gymming, walking and exercising after work, and partying late. This is their routine and preference.

Being a late or early riser is a lifestyle choice. It is not hereditary, and whatever you choose, should work for you and give you joy and a sense of adequacy and fulfillment.

To be judgemental would be wrong ….

--

--

Anita Sud
The Faculty

An educationist for 30 years, I have a newly acquired love for blogging and enjoy penning my thoughts and experiences. https://medium.com/@anita.sud66