The Doctor In Your Pocket!

7 reasons healthcare will change in the future!

Dr Gautam Kulkarni
The Faculty

--

Photo by National Cancer Institute on Unsplash

1. Video consultations will be the norm

I am in love with video consultations. Like the rest of the world, finally, I can work from home! And for patients, what is not to like? No more waiting anxiously in your doctor’s office, but the doctor will call you back at a time of your choice, whilst you are lounging in your PJs. Surely that’s not wrong?

Just last week, I had a rather curious consult for a baby several hundred miles away from London (where I practice). The referral letter (from her GP) mentioned a brief seizure whilst her dad was swinging her? Eventually I put it down to a breath-holding spell, But had we missed something? After all, neither the GP, health visitor or I had physically examined her? Are we more likely than ever to simply agree to what the patient may suggest?

Afterall the patient (in my case, the parent) is always right?

2. No more hugs or handshakes

--

--