Towards Inclusivity: Three Ways to Reimagine Higher Education

Burn it down, sweep up the ashes, and start over. Here are some concrete ways to support Black Lives in pedagogy and praxis.

Ciarra Jones, MTS
The Faculty

--

My latest article, “Not Just the Syllabus, Throw the Whole Discipline in the Trash” challenges the white supremacist heteropatriachy of higher education. Particularly, I pushback against the notion that scholarship created from white supremacist frameworks maintain some sort of ethereal value, even when the errors of the texts are glaring. My central argument is this: problematic scholarship does not exist in a vacuum and institutions of higher learning are culpable for the ways in which outdated research perpetuates harm in marginalized communities. In my aforementioned article, I use eugenics as an example, but the examples are endless. From Biology to English, higher education is in desperate need of methodological and pedagogical change.

Now, let me be clear, diversifying your syllabus is important. And if you have not done that, you should absolutely start there. But, I want to see higher education go one step further.

I am not only critical of what is written, but how it is researched.

--

--

Ciarra Jones, MTS
The Faculty

My writing explores DEI, religious inclusion, social justice, and personal development.