Why I Tell My Students Not to Read Everything I Assign Them

Learning when and how to skim readings

Oakley Roberts
The Faculty

--

Photo by Daniel Chekalov on Unsplash

When I was in graduate school, I worked two full-time graduate assistantships (which I had to get special permission for from the dean, by the way, even though I would not have been able to continue with my graduate studies otherwise — a classist policy that I will discuss another day), one of which involved teaching, as sole instructor of record, two undergraduate-level classes in my department but outside of my immediate domain of emergent expertise and demanded A LOT of prep work on my end.

Additionally, I volunteered or worked in a handful of research labs over the years, taking the lead on as many papers as possible before I put in my dissertation, took full-time classes, organized and attended talks in and outside of my department, served on committees, reviewed scientific papers and proposals in service to my field, gave talks and moderated panels, and served as a tutor and mentor to other students in my program.

Oh, and I also took care of my parents, who were dealing with chronic health issues/disabilities, and in my first year of graduate school moved closer to where I was studying so that I would be able to help out. In addition to these responsibilities, I tried to have a life. I was engaged (and eventually married)…

--

--

Oakley Roberts
The Faculty

I am a writer, poet, and university professor, trying to make sense of the world through words.