A Surprisingly Warm Welcome to OnlyFans: The Unveiling of the ‘Girlfriend Effect’

Jánelle Marina Méndez
The Feminist
Published in
3 min readJul 23, 2023

I recently took a leap of faith and plunged into the occasionally murky waters of OnlyFans, an online platform known for its content creation freedom – and, indeed, for its erotic content. A decision met with surprise and skepticism due to my past trajectory as a political nude model, a path often trodden with judgment and criticism. Yet, within three days of my OnlyFans debut, I ascended an astonishing climb to become a top creator, a feat catapulted by a theory I’ve coined – the ‘Girlfriend Effect’.

OnlyFans, a haven for content creators of myriad genres, often finds notoriety for its less-than-modest profiles. Ranging from fitness advice to cooking shows and adult content, it enthusiastically invites creators from a wide variety of domains. As I braved this new venture, I never expected the warm reception that greeted me. My past entailed years as a political nude model, a role that often drew a kaleidoscope of reactions – from admiration to disdain.

Following the well-beaten path of my career as a politically provocative nude model, I gathered a bevy of critics. Critics, who watched and passed judgment, often missing the empowering and expressive narrative intertwined with my nudity. Yet, as I divulged into my newfound career as an OnlyFans creator, I felt an unexpected wave of support. Amid this sea of support was a startling revelation.

In the three short days of my journey with OnlyFans, a remarkable thing occurred. Out of the vast sea of OnlyFans subscribers, those who chose to support my content – propelling me to the top fifteen percent of creators – were predominantly men I had personal connections with: previous boyfriends, former lovers, childhood friends.

This led me to the concept I’ve since termed the ‘Girlfriend Effect’. The recognition that, in reality, many subscribers are not anonymous voyeurs lured by eroticism but instead, a congregation of past intimates and long-lost acquaintances. This demographic, men who’ve shared intimate episodes or companionship with me in the past, now view my content with an appreciation stemming perhaps from familiarity, past affection, or sheer curiosity.

The ‘Girlfriend Effect’, although a personal observation, may not be unique to my experience alone. It could potentially reveal a pattern that extends beyond my individual narrative and into the wider sphere of content creation. It is a provocative hypothesis begging for deeper exploration.

Entering OnlyFans, I embraced vulnerability, stepping onto a platform far removed from the guarded realm I was accustomed to. Yet, in doing so, it uncovered an intriguing theory about the connections between content creators and their loyal followers. The warm welcome I received, the recognition of the ‘Girlfriend Effect’, was utterly unexpected and entirely revealing; a new chapter in my understanding of the dynamics between content creators and their audience. It’s a chapter still being written, its pages filled with surprises, revelations, and a deeper understanding of humanity’s complex relationships.

--

--

Jánelle Marina Méndez
The Feminist

Award-winning Author, Inventor, FinTech Entrepreneur | I write a human rights newsletter called The Feminist. I sometimes write about my life in FinTech.