Reviving the Bare Essentials: My Unexpected Return to Naked Activism

Jánelle Marina Méndez
The Feminist
Published in
5 min readJul 15, 2023

Just when I believed my bare-skinned advocacy was nearing an end, an opportunity to protest in a foreign land has emerged, catalyzed by the happenings in our own nation’s seat of power. I am compelled to amplify the voices of those who cannot. I represent the staggering 1.5 million U.S. servicemembers who have reported being sexually assaulted during their active service. They live steeped in the debilitating weight of disability and oppression, while certain privileged men in the corridors of Congress reap benefits from their ongoing torment.

You observe figures in Congress, such as Tommy Tuberville, the GOP Representative from Alabama who is part of the House Armed Services Committee, proposing legislation to limit the accessibility of abortion for women in the U.S. Military. This bill has been endorsed and forwarded by the House Republicans, moving on to the United States Senate. Rest assured, I will make certain that my outcry is heard globally. No matter my location, my voice will resound and I will ensure that Congressional members face fierce backlash for engaging in this confrontation with female veterans. We are the fighters of America, and now, the world will reverberate with my vocal resistance!

A majority of people in America, including a considerable number of Republicans, are proponents of allowing access to abortion services in situations involving rape or incest. Yet, the more extreme factions within the House GOP are actively challenging the reproductive rights of women serving in the military. This is something I cannot abide. My commitment to dealing with issues relating to Military Sexual Trauma is unwavering. The Military Sexual Trauma Movement, which I launched and led, has pushed through numerous important reforms, including the Restoration of Honor Act of 2019. As a survivor of child sexual slavery during my time in the military when I was a teenager, I refuse to remain silent on this issue. Despite the distance from my current tropical island home, my voice will ring out loud and clear, telling the GOP in the House where they can go (politically correct term for fuck off). I stand resolutely, unapologetically believing that I am on the right side of history in opposing those who capitalize on our suffering and condemn us to a lifetime of severe pain. I have celebrated victory after victory against the U.S. Government and today will be no exception. It is crucial for women to elect other women in the upcoming elections, and for women veterans in Alabama to band together to remove Tommy Tuberville from Congress as soon as possible. We were on the front lines, serving this nation. The comfortably privileged lives enjoyed by the white Republican men in Congress, facilitated by lucrative deals with the private sector made behind their screens, are far removed from the realities of our suffering.

I’ve grown exasperated with the perpetuation of patriarchy by aging white men, at the cost of women and minorities. There’s no way I’ll remain passive while individuals like Rep. Tommy Tuberville (R-Alabama) inflict harm on our female servicemembers due to his uninformed viewpoints and far-right inclinations. His extreme views and blatant show of radicalization are deeply concerning. It’s time for female veterans in Alabama to rally against such a detestable individual. These women should spearhead the resistance against supremacy-driven white men trying to strip away our independence. It’s about protecting the coming generations of female servicemembers and aiding them to withstand the hostile atmospheres that men like Tuberville propagate within the United States Military. Bear in mind, these radical deviants in the military aren’t just local – these are worldwide issues extending to over 800 US military bases. These men go on to cause harm to women and children globally. Consider the recent instance of a 14-year-old disabled girl in California who was abducted and forced into sex trafficking at Camp Pendleton. Her family, like mine, will have to wage this combat for a lifetime. We need to halt this vicious cycle and counter these GOP Republicans with the utmost vigor. This is why I’m reigniting my drive to utilize political action as a means to protest against Congressional Republicans’ dangerously transgressive behavior.

I am initiating an OnlyFans account with the unique purpose of enlightening my subscribers on the historical aspects of political nudity and my personal journey metamorphosing into a nude activist model who utilizes her body to counter male dominance. Using this platform that caters to adult-rated content, I feel it’s my responsibility to spark substantial discussions about matters like sexual assault, child sexual enslavement, rape, and reproductive rights. In an era where the actions of elderly white males in Congress are causing discontent among the majority, I am channeling my dissatisfaction into educating the public about the manipulative strategies employed by the billionaire patriarchy to undermine our American Democracy. I pledge to steadfastly remain on the vanguard as a defender of human rights, pushing back against oppression from anywhere I am in the world.

For those of you interested in learning about human rights in a fun Rated-R way. Join me on OnlyFans! Which will be open for subscription in the next few days!

--

--

Jánelle Marina Méndez
The Feminist

Award-winning Author, Inventor, FinTech Entrepreneur | I write a human rights newsletter called The Feminist. I sometimes write about my life in FinTech.