Ambivalence

The Walk From Shame To Pride

Shashvat Jayakrishnan
The Festember Blog
2 min readJun 28, 2019

--

Ambivalence | Source: Pinterest

Here I am, stuck in the marsh of ambivalence
Standing still, clueless and astray
Suffocating in an existential dilemma.
My feet yearn to go forth
But my mind stays shovelled
In dreams of what must lay forth.

I am a man who stands apart
But here I crave convention;
Caress my little child
With my wife beside,
A life of my dreams
Stifled away in a dream.

Every moment I stop and ponder,
I sink further and further
Unfathomable fathoms deep.
Every minute I stop and wonder,
I sink further and further
Into insatiable rhetorics.

A New Land | Source: Pinterest

Maybe I am
But I don’t want to be!
Beyond realisation
Is a point of no return
But par acceptance
Is a new land.

This land I fear to explore;
A road I’d rather not travel
But a safe ground
I must swim to,
Unless I fancy dropping —
Drowning to doom.

This land makes me happy
But at the cost of convention.
I am a man who stands apart and so be it.
I shall swim to the shore of identity
See a new sun dawn upon me,
And wait for him to sit beside me.

--

--