Here I Stand

Beneath the Skies

Ashwin Shekhar
The Festember Blog
2 min readFeb 8, 2020

--

Source: Pixabay

Here I stand,

Beneath the brilliant blue skies,

Their carefree joy and sunshine,

Melodies in cacophony: paradise.

Here I stand,

At their side, beaming with pride,

Their glories, their triumphs

Joys nothing else can provide.

Here I stand,

Staring into the distance

With them gone, my mind aflutter,

Abuzz with a million questions.

Source: Flickr

Here I stand,

In dizzying downtown with its flashing lights.

They say they searched for solace,

All they found were sleepless nights.

Here I stand,

Beneath pewter-grey skies,

Mirroring their roaring tempests within

Plastic grins, painful lies.

Here I stand,

Near the roaring, raging river,

Numb with loss, crippling confusion;

A void so immense, it feels like forever.

Source: Mula Blanca

Here I stand,

With a claw on my heart,

Every fibre of my being

Slowly falling apart.

Here I stand,

Sighing final apologies,

As I fall into the abyss

Of eternal dreams.

Here I stand,

Beneath the brilliant blue skies,

Their carefree joy and sunshine,

Melodies in cacophony: paradise.

--

--