Talks by The Firelight 1.6: Revel in the Rhythm

Sabrina Terence, DJ

Shreyas Thirumalai
The Festember Blog
Published in
3 min readDec 29, 2018

--

Day 2 of Festember’18 saw world renowned DJ Sabrina Terence headline DJ Nite. Let’s take a look at her journey through the world of music, and discover how she got to where she is now!

On the roots of the journey…

It all started in my kitchen. Previously, I was a model for many years in Germany, following which I moved to Dubai. In Dubai, the idea of continuing to pursue modelling did not excite me anymore and I thought I’d try my hand at something new. From a friend of mine in Germany, the idea of becoming a DJ fascinated me. Plus, I always had a passion for music. I always did my iTunes mixes and the like, but I was unaware of how to mix songs like a DJ. I bought a new turntable and practiced by watching established DJs on YouTube. I visited clubs and watched what buttons the DJs pushed, how they pushed them, etc. That is how the journey of my learning transpired. I was terrible in the beginning. My friends scoffed at the idea of me playing at their bachelor parties. So, it’s not all a bed of roses.

On the most memorable moments…

Every experience is different, unique and great. There’s always the good ones and the bad ones. There was this one time in Doha, where I was playing on New Year’s Eve. The experience was amazing and I had a lot of fun except the part where the promoter ran away with my money. It’s not the type of experience one can forget. I’ve come to terms with it. I have and still travel a lot. I’ve been warming up for 50’s and DJ crew in Paris. I’ve DJ’ed for top brass like Nicolas Cage and John Travolta. So I have a lot of good audiences, and all of them have something new to offer. Each city and each country is unique in its own way. I do love India, and that is why I’m back after three years.

On becoming the first official female DJ of Saudi Arabia…

I was excited when they informed that I need not be covered up completely. It’s gonna be the first time for them. It’s gonna be in a great restaurant but they’ll not be allowed to dance yet. I’m looking forward to it.

On being a versatile artist…

Two years ago, I was just a DJ. I had reached the peak of what a female DJ can reach. I was pretty worn out and disheartened with my DJ life. The feeling of wanting something more kept nagging me. I can’t just DJ for all my life. Plus, we’re all getting old. I don’t envision myself DJ’ing when I’m sixty years old. I’ve always felt playing music and spreading happiness among people is the purpose of my life. The stress accumulated from DJ’ing, travelling extensively, sleepless nights, nocturnal life and drinking alcohol was just too much. The idea of meditation seemed a possible way out. I needed a medium to channel out the negative energy. Around the same time, I acquired the hobby of painting. When stress reached its breaking point, I start to paint. I consider myself a spiritual person. Of late, I’ve started taking on roles as a spiritual adviser as well. In the end, everything boils down to a positive mindset. You can achieve anything you desire in life with a positive mindset.

On the biggest hurdles in DJ’ing…

Honestly, all the men hated me. The toughest hurdle for every female DJ are the male DJs. We are always ridiculed and belittled by the male DJs. There’s always a negative vibe when I perform alongside a male DJ. It has and still continues to be the most challenging aspect of this field.

This interview was taken in collaboration with Antony Terence and Vamsi Krishna.

--

--