The Allure of Darkness

The Trial of Solitude begins.

Amogh Sundararaman
The Festember Blog
2 min readAug 5, 2021

--

The Allure of Darkness — Graphique

The silence deafened and the darkness beckoned,

Sweet words of honey, sweeter is the symphony,

Soured by the fact that it was my eulogy.

The murmur of the mob’s rumours ravaged my final rest,

A final soldier, armed and bare;

Lay on the ground I so firmly defended

It was too late before I realized my slippery slope;

Now it was time for me to ascend.

Heaven had no place for troubled souls,

Funny how difficult it is to pass across;

When you are haunted by the lines you crossed,

I felt the agony of betrayal as I gazed upon the fires of hell,

I found my place, perennially stuck between two worlds;

And not welcome in either one.

Heaven or Hell?

I felt the blade that sent Caesar to his grave,

The brute of an untamed tongue is the sharpest one of all,

My murder was no mystery;

My death had no impact on history.

The light that lit my mansion began to flicker,

The walls that I had stared upon thus long, began to quake,

A series of tremors broke the ceiling,

The cracks inside me, still concealed.

My time drew near as the night grew darker,

Life was the race I ran and now; it was time.

For the shadows to chase me and catch up

How foolish was I to lock them away?

Now, it was their time to play

I was swirled by an air of false peace.

Peace, albeit fake.

How I panged for a chance at life,

To revel in the golden era;

Fully aware that I was clutching at silver nothingness,

would a morning ever dawn on this story again?

Either way, my nightmares would never end!

This poem is a part of a two-part series and was written in collaboration with Haeshini.

--

--