The Ghastly Growl

Evading the ghoul within

Karan Raahul G
The Festember Blog
2 min readSep 30, 2020

--

Dread it. Run from it… Illustration by Souvik Ray Baruah

I heard the growl;
I pushed my limits,
My palms,
Albeit, sweaty and foul,
Held fast to the handlebar.

My legs, they did feel it,
The excruciating pain.
Yet, they never gave in,
For they couldn’t stand
Their efforts in vain.

I heard the growl;
This time, it was louder.
“I don’t want to get killed.
Not by this monster!”

Thus, I rode faster.

I heard it again;
The clock tower. “Five?!”
Frustrated, exhausted,
“Can time run any quicker?!”
I persevered, with all my power.

It’s more than just words and thoughts. Illustration by Souvik Ray Baruah

I heard the growl;
This time, I faced it,
Unfazed. For I was there,
Where I wanted to be.
A little late, obviously.
*Growl*
Oh, poor me!
I acted fast and grabbed it,
The lonely note in my pocket.
“Anna oru burger, please!”,
Handing out 500 rupees.
“Change illa thambi.”
It broke me.

I heard the growl;
But I was there on time
For a second serving.
It seemed precious,
All of a sudden.
The stale mess samosas
Seemed delicious,
All of a sudden.

This poem was penned in collaboration with Vishnu Dhinakaran.

--

--