The Art of Transitioning from hands-on Technologist to Leader

“Syntax decays; concepts endure.” This rule of thumb resonates deeply, especially for technologists navigating career growth.

At a certain point in my career, I faced the challenge in letting go of what had made me strong: the “doing” and the syntax. It was a difficult transition. However, over time, I came to realize that my true expertise lay in understanding patterns, methodologies, and concepts. Embracing this shift and recognizing it as my secret sauce took years to fully embrace, but it was necessary for my continued career growth.

Let me share some tips if you find yourself facing a similar dilemma:

1️⃣ Catalogue and retain methodologies: The methodologies you’ve learned throughout your career provide a solid foundation for problem-solving and decision-making.

2️⃣ Deep understanding of patterns: Master the underlying patterns and principles that transcend specific tools or syntax. Recognize how they adapt and evolve across different contexts.

3️⃣ Experiment with emerging concepts: Stay curious and embrace new concepts as they emerge. Explore how they can enhance efficiency and effectiveness in your work.

The following article sparked my thinking on this topic, and I highly recommend giving it a read: How Do you Stay Current?

--

--

Sandy Estrada
The Field Guide: Chart Your Career Expedition

Data Strategy Advisory & Executive. Thoughts shared here will be focused on helping others drive their career ambitions.