How to Submit to The First Time

Shamar M
The First Time
Published in
2 min readJul 7, 2021

--

Photo by Marc Fehr on Unsplash

I started this publication because personal experiences and journal entries are my favorite topics on Medium. As humans, we all have weird, whacky, and wonderful life experiences or have encountered situations that no one else may encounter in their time here on Earth. Therefore, I feel as if we should share them in one place.

Secondly, the aim of the publication is for writers to see it as a prompt. On the days where you feel you’ve hit writer’s block or feel burnout, write about the first time something happened to you. For example, the first time you bought a car, the first time you moved out, the first time you bought a console or, the first time you got arrested (pretty extreme but it still counts).

There is no specific writing style I am looking for, any particular genre, or any particular time. You can format your work as a letter, as a poem, or as a fictional story.

What I am truly interested in is real-life experiences written from the heart. You do not have to present takeaway advice for readers but it would be good if you did.

As my social life is fairly busy and I work 9–5, it will take up to 24 hours for me to accept your submission. Please check your work with Grammarly and if you don’t, I will make the changes myself but those are the only changes I will make.

If you want to be added as a writer, please comment below and I’ll add you as soon as I can. You can also ask any questions if you feel you have a query.

Many thanks for your interest in The First Time and I hope to publish your work soon!

Love, Shamar M x

--

--

Shamar M
The First Time

27. Based in the UK. PG DIP HR Management. Chief of publication The First Time. Editor in About Me Stories.