The First Time I Ever Made My Coffee!

I didn’t know what to expect!

Rodney McGill
The First Time

--

Photo by Nathan Dumlao on Unsplash

As far back as I can remember, I was told once that drinking coffee was bad for you and that drinking it could have devastating effects on your health as well as growth. My journey of the cup of coffee started when I was forced back home after being evicted by my slumlord. I was around 39, I got up one morning and I was just stumbling around my house.

My mother who was sitting at the kitchen table, having a cup of coffee. My coffee was always made by my wife so I never made it myself. I always thought that making coffee was complicated so I never bothered, my mother made my coffee that morning and it’s a morning I’ll never forget.

That morning I learned two things. The first is coffee gets cold and chilled quickly if not drank up in a certain amount of time. Second, coffee is the ultimate wake-up drink of sorts and why most people can’t function without it.

I was standing around in the kitchen and my mother said to me, “Hey, want some coffee?” I was like, “Sure, how does it feel making coffee for your worthless, useless, 39-year-old son.” We’d laugh then at that moment, I came up with the idea, “I want you to show me how to make it.”

Not surprised by my sense of self-reliance and eagerness to learn, my mother showed me how to…

--

--

Rodney McGill
The First Time

Writing extraordinaire, I've always loved writing since I was a kid and I'm happy that I am able to become a paid writer like I want to be.