The First Time I Spotted A Grey Hair

I thought I was growing old, but in a true sense, I was becoming more mature.

Amrit
The First Time
2 min readOct 18, 2023

--

Photo by Jared Rice on Unsplash

I spotted my first grey hair at the age of 19. It was quite a shock for me.

I remember that night. While brushing, I looked in the mirror unknowingly, and there it was, one tiny strand of my grey hair. I was shocked and for a moment stopped brushing and kept looking at the mirror.

Am I old at such a young age? I am just 19!!! That was my reaction.

After almost 15 years, when I think of that incident, sitting in my chair, I feel very glad to be growing old with maturity.

Childhood days are the ones that everyone misses. Everything was more lively and our spirit was full of energy. I would consider myself as a shy and introvert, but still, I enjoyed the company of my close friends. We used to roam around the city, watching movies in cinema halls, eating street food, and just watching other people in the streets or in the malls.

No tension, no pressure, no responsibilities, no facing the intricacies of life!

Therefore, finding that I was beginning to show signs of getting old was a shocker for me.

But things have changed since then.

I had struggled desperately — to stand on my feet, to be independent, to get a job, to get fit and healthy from a health issue, to stand mentally strong, to pull myself back together from rejection, dejection, and pain.

Now, I have come out much stronger. I believe I am more mature and responsible than before. The old me wouldn’t have had the courage to face the tough challenges, life threw at that point in time. I am calm and don’t necessarily react strongly to most of the situations. I enjoy the little things in life.

It is very important to find that balance in life. The first-time events in our lives may be exciting and new, but with age, comes the experience to handle our emotions and react appropriately.

All the first-time events are captured nicely in my memory, but to make it beautiful, it requires experience to either turn them into words for you nice people to read, or to take lessons from them and lead a better life.

Hey Dear Readers,

Thank you for reading my article. I truly value your engagement and feedback. You can help me share my work with others by👏claps, 💬 comments, and be sure to 👤+ to follow me on Medium.

Your support and love for my writing keep motivating me. ❤️

--

--

Amrit
The First Time

I work as a Software Developer to Earn Bread n Butter. I write Prose and Poetry to Fuel My Ignited Mind. I write about Life Experiences.