The First Time She Took Off Her Specs

The “she” here is a girl from my college.

Mahesh Chandra
The First Time
3 min readNov 22, 2023

--

Let’s say her name is “Miss T”. So, Miss T was in my class during my graduation. She was a beautiful girl. The first time I met her was during the time of our admission. She was one with a fair skin tone, big, black, cat specs, and long black hair. We didn’t talk much at that time. We were strangers and the admission procedure was pretty hectic, so we were busy with our stuff. After the admission, we met in our classes. It was just hello and hi. But we had a common friend so we got to know more about each other from there.

Miss T was very polite, social, and admiring. I didn’t talk much to her or I should say I couldn’t talk to her. I was an introvert. Just a few friends, completing my classes, playing cricket, and coming back home, that was my daily routine. But Miss T was the exact opposite to me. I guess that explains why I admired her. Opposite attracts. She was an extrovert. Also, she was not like other girls in the college. She was not very conscious of her appearance, or someone who comes to college with very heavy makeup on her face or wears any bold dresses. Nope, very simple and it was her simplicity that made her unique. Her behaviour was also a plus point. Always smiling and greeting everybody.

Photo by Vikas Makwana on Unsplash

Time passed and we got to know more about each other. The seldom meetings became regular, the sharing of lunch and music playlists, the online chats. I think we both liked each other but never told each other. It was our second semester, Miss T came after a week as she was in the hospital with her ill grandmother. Now her grandmother had come home, so Miss T was back in the college. Her specs were different now. They were brown and more rectangular now. We all met her, asked her about my grandmother, and went to attend our class. Some were sitting with Miss T on the first bench and I was on the second bench with some other friends.

After the class was over, she and her friends turned towards us and now we were sitting right opposite to each other and we all were talking. The bench was like a table between us. Suddenly one of our friends asked Miss T for the specs. I guess she wanted to try the specs of Miss T on herself. Miss T was first reluctant but then turned her face sideways took off the specs and gave it to the friend. She was not looking towards me and then she quickly turned her head down on the bench. I had never seen her without the glasses before, so I asked her to turn her head up. She denies. Others also asked her but she denied it again. She said she wouldn’t because I’d laugh at her. Why would I? I just wanted to see her. But she took my name, and now I was more curious than before. After the persuasion, she finally looked at me. And guess what, I was stunned!!!

There was nothing to be laughed at. She looked completely different. Her eyes were so beautiful. She was prettier than before as if the specs had hidden her actual beauty. That day I understood what poets meant by beautiful eyes in poems and songs. My heart just achieved euphoria. The way I was looking at her would have made Miss T realize what I was feeling at that moment. She was not shy anymore and was smiling. And after a while, she put the specs again. Well, there have been many instances where Miss T and I have shared each other’s admiration but this was the best one.

--

--