WAIT! I have to practice what I teach?

Heather Furby
The First Two Chapters
2 min readDec 10, 2015

Do you ever have a day where you wake up and feel nervous? Or anxious? Or have the butterflies in your stomach like a feeling of anticipation? As if something big is going to happen but you don’t know what?

I’m having that day. And of course, my mind goes to the worst-case scenario…what am I forgetting? Am I supposed to be somewhere today? Maybe something bad happened and I’m picking up on the energy…

I got my butt on the meditation pillow to ask “what do I need to know?”

That lasted all of 38 seconds before I was going to crawl out of my skin.

I decided to go for a walk with Dog.

We got to the closest corner before he went into “Red Zone” and tried to crawl out of his own skin to chase, or probably eliminate, the Tabby Cat. I guess he feels the same energy.

I called my Mom to make sure she was OK. We are closely connected so I thought maybe something was going on with here. Nope. She’s having her morning coffee and feeling fine.

I decided to have my morning coffee. Fight fire with fire, right?

I followed it with a calming “green shake” in which I try to trick my body into taking in vegetables by cramming lettuce, cucumbers and celery into a blender with some berries and juice and calling it a “shake”. It just makes me sneeze.

Now I’m jacked up on 2 shots of espresso; Buzzing from my “natural green shake”; Feeling bad that I couldn’t be quiet enough to meditate; Feeling guilty that the Dog hasn’t been for a walk; Restless because I haven’t exercised; tired from waking up with butterflies in my stomach.

So at least NOW I can pin down reasons for feeling icky?

The universe often asks me to practice what I teach. I guess it’s one of those days. So I’ll do my version of Lean In…I’m going to lean in to the feelings. Sit with them; notice how my body feels. Stop fighting it. Ask a little louder “what do I need to know?” Ask “can you show me clearer?”

Then I’ll go get some ice cream.

--

--

Heather Furby
The First Two Chapters

helping business leaders get beyond the B.S. and get results. Dedicated to make workplaces that are innovative and inspiring...especially for women.