Night Tales- Owl Baby

Fatima Ali
The Flying Girl
Published in
2 min readSep 15, 2023
Photo by Todd Steitle on Unsplash

Wow, last night has been a fun ride for me. My son’s usual bedtime is 10 , 10 30ish. I have been at my mom’s for the past few days. And my son thinks his Nani’s house is a party house. He runs in the lounge all day. He is busy playing and basically bringing the whole house down.

So, I came back last night. It was 8 p.m. here, and he was so tired that he was sitting in one place and not moving. I thought, Let’s change his clothes, his diaper, and give him a bottle of formula. It will be 9 p.m. by then, and I am done with all the chores. And I made the horrible mistake of putting him down for bed.

He slept instantly because he was so exhausted. Then I ate,did my nightly chores, and got ready for bed. When I laid down on my bed, he woke up crying inconsolably. I calmed him down. I turned on his favourite cartoon so that he could settle down again. It was 11:30 pm, ladies and gentlemen, and let me tell you for how long he was up after that. 5:30 am. Yes, he slept this late.

So, finally, he slept. I watched an episode of “The OA” and slept. Guess who was up again at 9 a.m.? My precious boy! HAHA! It seems funny now,but I was a mess at that time. I gave him a bottle and put him in his cot again. Thankfully, he slept again. And I slept as fast as I could.

He just turned 22 months old. Maybe kids go through a growth spurt during this time. If that is the case, then some sleepless nights are waiting impatiently for me.

--

--

Fatima Ali
The Flying Girl

🔷Hardworking Housewife 👩‍❤️‍👨 🔷 A Dedicated Mother👶💐 🔷Self-care + Self-love Enthusiast💫 📝fatimamahboob321@outlook.com