Why do Paperains write?

Harini JBL
The Folded Paper
Published in
3 min readJun 14, 2021

Recently, we at, The Folded Paper Writing Community, celebrated our 50th Writing and Creativity Jam meeting. We started the celebrations with writing — we revisited why we write, in and about 50 words.

Here are the ‘Whys’ of the Paperians:

Paperian Ishika wrote

I love to write down because it is an incredible way to express my thoughts and my opinions. Also, it allows my mind to travel to any place without any restrictions. I write because it is my way to relax myself. 🌻

Paperian Aman wrote:

I enjoy writing not only to express my thoughts but also to understand myself. It's a journey both inward and outward. I'm not really sure about the destination yet, but surely enjoying the journey. Let's go!

Paperian Aastha wrote:

The craft of writing lets you express yourself, dream, imagine, explore, create your own world, and meander in the vast land of possibilities. Don’t like someone? Create a character similar to that person and get evil. That’s the kind of freedom writing gives you. And also, an ear to listen.

Paperian Akshay wrote:

Writing is an art of expressing the inexpressible and feeling the intangibles.
For me, writing is an escape, when I'm lost in a forest full of uncertainties, smouldering with the clouds of discombobulated thoughts.

Writing is one of the supreme forms of meditation for me, allowing me to find the answers within.

Paperian Shivangi wrote:

Writing is my happy place, my safe escape, my humble abode, my lover in disguise, my trouble in paradise! It settles me, it unsettles me, it sets me free, it captures my dreams. You say what's writing to me? Writing is the same as me...

Paperian Harsh wrote:

There are little pieces of the soul that want to explore an identity outside of the whole, in this wide world. Writing to me is an activity that enables that.

Paperian Shubhangi wrote:

Writing and I have a love hate relationship. Some days we have the smoothest rides, printing scores of articles and for most of the year we don't get along well. For those some days, writing becomes my refuge to vent out everything - personal, political and everything in between. It is for this refuge that I hope we start sticking together longer every year.

Paperian Harini wrote:

It is said the answer to everything - life, relationships, career, passion, curiosity, and more - is within ourselves. Writing for me is the vehicle to reach the answers.

A high maintenance vehicle, surely. But I like maintaining it.

Paperian Kasturi wrote:

I started writing for acceptance and now it has become my chosen way to express myself. I'm holding onto writing now and forever hoping to reach milestones which were otherwise out of my range. Also setting a world completely of my choice which is free of prejudice, hatred, greed is the best thing about writing. Weaving the words of my choice into a meaningful ending is what makes me happy.

Paperian Anmol wrote:

I write to discover myself. The more I write, the more I realize that it's only through this medium that I can express myself completely. It gives me immense pleasure when people tell me that they relate to what I write, but even if they don't, it doesn't matter, because I believe that no one can look at the world in the exact same way as me.

P.S. - I hope this echoes with every writer out here, because each of us are unique in our writes and each of us is beautiful in our own ways! ✨

Paperian Kanika wrote:

Writing helps me to express myself. It takes me back in time when I had written that particular thing, what I was thinking and feeling. When it's difficult to express in words, writing makes it easy for me.👍

Happy Writing from Writing and Creativity Jam meeting #51!

Come join your why of writing with ours. Become a Paperian by messaging The Folded Paper here.

--

--

Harini JBL
The Folded Paper

Practicing writing for the kitchen and the soul | Creative Content Writer at MediaAgility & Co-Creator at The Folded Paper, Writing Community