Welcome to The Folkalist !

Kavita Shah
The Folkalist

--

The Folkalist is a blog about folk music traditions from around the world.

As a multilingual vocalist and composer engaged in issues of cultural identity, diaspora, and migration, it has been a dream of mine to create a space where I can share both informal and formal elements of my ethnographic work: photos, videos, field recordings, interviews, as well as personal observations from my travels across the United States, Perú, Brazil, West Africa, India, and beyond.

In time, I also hope to share reflections about my own artistic process, and engage with other artists about their work and methodology.

I hope that what you find here inspires you to listen outside of the box, in music and in life, and to find connections, as I have, in the most unexpected of places.

As I begin this journey in ink, I welcome your ideas, feedback, and dialogue. Thank you for visiting The Folkalist, and check back soon for new posts!

--

--

Kavita Shah
The Folkalist

Award-winning vocalist and composer Kavita Shah (www.kavitashahmusic.com) makes work in deep engagement with global jazz and folk music traditions.