The Soap Opera

Elizabeth Reed
The Foreigner Blog
Published in
3 min readJun 10, 2021

--

thegraphicsfairy.com

As a teenager I thought my strict Portuguese parents’ aim was to make me look as ugly as possible. But their ultimate goal was getting me to the altar, still a virgin.

They failed miserably.

Dad: “You’re not painting your face.”

Mom: “No makeup until you’re sixteen.”

On my sixteenth birthday my mother gave me a sad 1950’s style flip-up compact, with a mirror, a flat disc of face powder and powder puff. Who used a compact in 1974? I divulged nothing about the cases of makeup in my school locker.

. . .

Dad: “Bikinis are indecent.”

Mom: “There are plenty of nice one-piece bathing suits.”

I chose the closest thing to a two-piece, one that would become a trend twenty years later for post-childbirth women, the tankini. I hated the boy-cut style bottoms and high neck tank top. The only redeeming factor was the bright color, orange. We went to Portugal that summer. As I lay sweating on the beach in my swim armor, the Portuguese women went topless. My parents relented.

Mom: “Okay, you can buy a two-piece — but no cleavage.”

Dad: “And no lower than your belly button.”

I stuck with the tankini.

. . .

--

--

Elizabeth Reed
The Foreigner Blog

Born in Lisbon. Married to a German. Traveler to unusual places (West Papua) Musician (pianist) Political activist (anti Tangerine Tyrant) Health advocate.