Welcome to the Land of the Forgotten

Kathryn Dillon
The Land of the Forgotten
2 min readMar 29, 2019

--

Mid-Life Musings from Gen X

Photo by Kjartan Einarsson on Unsplash

I’ll be honest — I‘m not loving the idea of turning 47 this year. As 40 grows ever dimmer in the rear view mirror, and 50 looms larger on the horizon, I regularly contemplate my mortality in ways that I couldn’t have fathomed, at 25, when I half-jokingly said I probably wouldn’t make it to 30.

We’re currently the sandwich generation, with many of us supporting both our children and our aging parents. As a whole, we have more disposable income than the Millennials or the Boomers. And yet no one talks about us, and no one CARES about us, except to joke about how no one talks about us or cares about us. We’re largely ignored by marketers (which isn’t necessarily a bad thing, even if it’s slightly insulting). We’re completely left out of news stories, even though there are an estimated 66 million of us. Not exactly small potatoes.

Personally, I want to navigate these middle years, and those that hopefully follow, with some semblance of grace, quite a bit of happiness, and the occasional glorious reappearance of my old Goth boots. I quite frankly don’t care what marketers or media think of me, but it’d be cool to feel some solidarity with others in my generation.

I’ll post a separate link to submission guidelines, but my initial concept for the publication involves anything and…

--

--

Kathryn Dillon
The Land of the Forgotten

Life’s a journey. Sometimes a peaceful hike in the woods, sometimes a screaming joyride down a dark highway. I’m on a quest to discover my truth by sharing it.