Early 2021 NFL Mock Draft!

Avery Price
Full Court Press
Published in
6 min readOct 21, 2020

1. New York Jets: Ja’Marr Chase, WR, LSU

Yes I don’t think the Jets should take Trevor Lawrence. In the Sam Darnold era when he isn’t playing, The Jets are 0–8. Sam Darnold is not the problem. His offensive line is horrible. Penei Sewell would make complete sense here. But they drafted a Tackle 1st round last year and I believe that their Skill position group is the worst in the NFL. They have an ancient Frank Gore and a decent Jamison Crowder. The last Receiver to be taken number 1 in the draft was Keyshawn Johnson in 1996. Can you name who selected Keyshawn in 1996? The Jets did!

2. Washington Football Team: Trevor Lawrence, QB, Clemson

I like Haskins a lot and I think he can be very well in a system built around him and his skill set. But the Redskins don’t have that and something obviously isn’t working. I think if the Football Team sees the Jets pass on Trevor Lawrence, They quickly replace him with Trevor Lawrence just like they did with Kyle Allen. Who is not playing good at all. Penei Sewell would also make sense here if the team believed heavily in one of their current quarterbacks but I don’t think that is the situation.

3. New York Giants: Penei Sewell, OT, Oregon

Honestly I debated Micah Parsons here at this pick for a while. But I just don’t believe he is a top 3 pick and the Giants O-Line is very bad. Yes they took a Tackle in the first round last year but he hasn’t looked amazing. They have an amazing running back and a quarterback who has shown decency behind a bad O-Line. Their front 7 has played pretty good this year even with all the losses they were still in a lot of these games.

4. Atlanta Falcons: Justin Fields, QB, Ohio State

As much as I wanted to take Gregory Rousseau here, I think they can improve in edge rushers later in the draft or in Free Agency. The 3 most important things for a team to have is a GM, a Coach and a QB. This team just fired 2 of those positions. The Coach and GM were just fired so sorry Matt Ryan but I think your time is coming up in Atlanta. I think Matt Ryan could still start for the first year of Justin Fields’ career because Matt Ryan’s contract will make it very hard to get rid of him. Justin Fields hasn’t played yet this year but I think he will be a huge heisman candidate and serve an NFL team very well.

5. Jacksonville Jaguars: Trey Lance, QB, North Dakota State

This draft class reminds me of the 2020 draft class so much. There is one quarterback who is obviously better than the next 2 but the next 2 are very close to each other. I think that the Jaguars like Gardner Minshew a lot but last year the Chargers liked Tyrod Taylor a lot and still took Justin Herbert. I think these two scenarios are very similar. Gardner isn’t playing horrible but the team isn’t winning so I think they bring in Trey Lance to sit for the start of the season until Gardner performs badly or just can’t get wins.

6. Minnesota Vikings: Micah Parsons, LB, Penn State

I think if the Vikings really wanted to trade up and take one of the Top 3 QBs they would and should. Kirk Cousins is 32 years old and not bringing them wins. But the defense is playing a huge part in them not being able to win. Other than Eric Kendricks I don’t like their Linebacker core. Micah Parsons would be a huge help in the defense in all. Gregory Rousseau could be taken here but they just traded for edge rusher Yannick Ngakoue who I think is one of the best in the league and they are fine there for now.

7. Miami Dolphins (via Houston Texans): Devonta Smith, WR, Alabama

The Dolphins got this pick from Houston most likely expecting it to be in the 20’s. But the Texans are horrible. The offensive live wont block for Deshaun and the defense looks horrible. The Dolphins got really lucky with this trade. They definitely need an offensive line but I don’t think they should pass up on the chance to take Tua’s old receiver. In Tua’s last season at Alabama, Devonta led the team in yards and touchdowns behind Najee Harris. Tua and Devonta have a great connection and this pair needs to be together in the NFL.

8. Los Angeles Chargers: Patrick Surtain III, CB, Alabama

The Chargers have a bottom 5 pass defense. Yes I know Derwin James is injured but their corners position has no depth and is underperforming. This defense when healthy can be one of the best in the league and I really like this offense with Keenan Allen, Austin Ekeler and now Justin Herbert. I don’t think this team will have this high of a pick though. All of their losses have been close and Herbert has kept up with Patrick Mahomes, Tom Brady, and Drew Brees. Dudes got loads of skill and I think will have a better career than Tua. Patrick Surtain makes a lot of sense but I could see them going with Offensive line as well.

9. Philadelphia Eagles: Rondale Moore, WR, Purdue

I couldn’t name half the players Carson Wentz has been throwing the ball to this year. Yes I know they drafted a receiver in the first round last year but he hasn’t been healthy and Carson Wentz needs help. This offensive line is old but still good and this team is good too. Carson just needs to step up and Rondale Moore can help that a lot. They should be leading this division right now but they tied with the Bengals in a game they should’ve won.

10. Cincinnati Bengals: Creed Humphrey, IOL, Oklahoma

I think this pick was pretty obvious. Maybe Wyatt Davis would make sense because he’s already in Ohio but the last IOL the Bengals selected out of Ohio State in the first round didn’t turn out too well. Thanks Billy Price. My Bengals have not looked horrible this year. The Run Defense and O-Line have looked horrible this year. John Ross just requested a trade but I still like our receiving core if A.J. Green steps it back up. Tyler Boyd and Tee Higgins have looked really good this year and do I need to even talk about Joe Burrow? I’m excited for our future if we can protect him!

11. Detroit Lions: Wyatt Davis, IOL, Ohio State

12. New England Patriots: Jaylen Waddle, WR, Alabama

13. Denver Broncos: Gregory Rousseau, EDGE, Miami

14. Miami Dolphins: Dylan Moses, LB, Alabama

15. Carolina Panthers: Kyle Pitts, TE, Florida

16. San Francisco 49ers: Shaun Wade, CB, Ohio State

17. New Orleans Saints: Caleb Farley, CB, Virginia Tech

18. Las Vegas Raiders: Marvin Wilson, IDL, Florida State

19. Dallas Cowboys: Asante Samuel Jr., CB, Florida State

20. Cleveland Browns: Rashod Bateman, WR, Minnesota

21. Tampa Bay Buccaneers: Alex Leatherwood, OT, Alabama

22. Indianapolis Colts: Kyle Trask, QB, Florida

23. Jacksonville Jaguars (via Los Angeles Rams): Jevon Holland, S, Oregon

24. Buffalo Bills: Travis Etienne, RB, Clemson

25. Arizona Cardinals: Samuel Cosmi, OT, Texas

26. Baltimore Ravens: Amon-Ra St. Brown, WR, USC

27. Chicago Bears: Quincy Roche, EDGE, Miami

28. Pittsburgh Steelers: Paulson Adebo, CB, Stanford

29. Green Bay Packers: Chris Olave, WR, Ohio State

30. Tennessee Titans: Tyson Campbell, CB, Georgia

31. New York Jets (via Seattle Seahawks): Trey Smith, IOL, Tennessee

32. Kansas City Chiefs: Jeremiah Owusu-Koramoah, LB, Notre Dame

I only did explanations for the first 10 but if you have any questions about any of my other picks then please feel free to ask me in the comment section. Thank you so much for reading!

--

--

Avery Price
Full Court Press

I'm a 16 year old with a passion for writing. But not just writing about anything, I love watching sports like Basketball and Football. Plus Rap!