Avery Price
Full Court Press
Published in
3 min readMay 2, 2018

--

My Take on the Top 10 2018 NFL Draft Picks!

I know this is a basketball publication and I do have a football publication but that publication has literally no views so I thought it would be better to upload it onto here. The NFL Draft is here and it’s here with a bang. Here are my thoughts:

1: Cleveland Browns

  • Baker Mayfield QB, Oklahoma

This pick was honestly a stunner to some, well most. I felt like personally this pick should’ve been Sam Darnold or Josh Rosen (The best 2 QB’s in this draft). Baker is a cocky Heisman winner with quick feet, Much like Johnny Manziel. Hopefully this pick turns out to be great, I’m tired of seeing the Browns waste young talent.

Grade: F

2: New York Giants

  • Saquon Barkley RB, Penn State

I wasn’t surprised by this pick at all. Saquon is a beast by all means, I think the Giants were smart to take a RB first round let alone 2nd pick. By now the theory of 1st round RB’s are risky to pick should be squashed. Todd Gurley, Ezekiel Elliott and Leonard Fournette made it clear that taking a RB early isn’t dumb at all.

Grade: A+

3: New York Jets

  • Sam Darnold QB, USC

The last time the Jets took a QB first round was back in 2009 when they selected Mr. Butt Fumble aka Mark Sanchez. So yeah, This is a big risk. But I believe they made the right decision. Teddy Bridgewater is on there roster which is definitely going to be a fun matchup between the 2 QB’s.

Grade: B+

4: Cleveland Browns

  • Denzel Ward CB, Ohio State

In the least biasness possible I will try to write this section. As an Ohio St. fan this pick is amazing! If your a Browns fan, well something is better than nothing. Denzel is a great player, no shame on his game whatsoever. But the best player in this draft was still on the clock, Bradley Chubb. You put Myles Garrett and Bradley Chubb on the same D-Line that would’ve been amazing.

Grade: C

5: Denver Broncos

  • Bradley Chubb OLB, North Carolina State

Von Miller, Bradley Chubb, Brandon Marshall and, Shane Ray just to name a few of the great linebackers on this team. Yes, Chubb was the best available but was it a team need? I honestly don’t think it was. Quenton Nelson or Josh Allen would’ve been a bigger team need pick but all in all Chubb was a great pick.

Grade: B

6: Indianapolis Colts

  • Quenton Nelson OG, Notre Dame

Great pick, Quenton was brought in to help keep Luck healthy. Andrew Luck hasn’t played a full season since 2014. Honestly if they would have traded up to the 2nd pick and drafted Saquon, I would’ve been totally fine. But Quenton will fit well and I think it was worth the trade down.

Grade: A-

7: Buffalo Bills

  • Josh Allen QB, Wyoming

I believe that Josh Allen is the best QB in this draft. The Bills traded up twice just to get him, It was a very smart idea and they are looking at there QB of the future with this pick. With A.J. McCarron being there as well it’ll be fun to see who will start. I don’t see the Bills trading up twice for him and then not even starting him.

Grade: A+

8: Chicago Bears

  • Roquan Smith OLB, Georgia

Roquan was a beast in college! I’m hoping the same happens in the NFL, I just love fierce linebackers. I was hoping the Raiders would get him because I feel like Khalil Mack would easily take him in open arms and work with him. But the Bears isn’t a bad situation either, They don’t have “that guy” on Defense that sticks out so I feel like Roquan can take that spot in the future.

Grade: A-

9. San Francisco 49ers

  • Mike McGlinchey OT, Notre Dame

So many bigger needs on this team! Honestly this pick made me mad and I’m not even a 49ers fan. Minkah Fitzpatrick was still on the clock and they took an O-Lineman! No disrespect to McGlinchey’s game at all just a bad pick by the 49ers.

Grade: F

10. Arizona Cardinals

  • Josh Rosen QB, UCLA

Part of me says there were bigger needs which there are but this Quarterback was so stacked it was hard to pass up on one. I mean 4 Quarterback’s taken in the top 10, it doesn’t get much better than that. If they can target a big name Wide Receiver this pick would make a lot more sense but I just don’t see Josh Rosen performing well without that guy at the Wideout spot.

Thank You For Reading!

--

--

Avery Price
Full Court Press

I'm a 16 year old with a passion for writing. But not just writing about anything, I love watching sports like Basketball and Football. Plus Rap!