A Personal Experience of Creativity during the Covid-19 Pandemic

Ricardo Bracho Roberti
The Foundational
Published in
2 min readOct 19, 2020

It’s awfully weird how the pandemic has forced me to do stuff I wouldn’t normally do.

Of course, all of this would be in the legal parameter but still considered uncommon to my light. I want to establish that music is a very important skill and an asset to my life, and I have been immersed in the world of music since the age of 3.

When I was merely 3 years old, my parents enrolled me in Violin classes with the best available, starting my music career. My Mother believed music is one of the most crucial aspects of cerebral development and an incredible hobby that might come as useful in the future.

I later started learning Piano that same year because my older brother started taking lessons before me. After that, a Venezuelan instrument called el Cuatro, which is a 4 string guitar that I began to play because my Grandmother started to teach me. At the age of 11, I began to learn the Clarinet and Alto saxophone because I entered a jazz band and I wanted to learn an infamous instrument. The next year I started learning the Flute and Trumpet at a very basic level to know, since my Mother always believed it would come as useful in the future. I later moved to Mexico and started learning the different types of Saxophones like the Tenor, Baritone, and Soprano. Most currently, I’ve been teaching myself how to play guitar and bass during this quarantine.

I honestly don’t think the quarantine has made me more creative, rather, I think it has opened the time to explore new things that I wasn’t able to consider before because of time constraints.

Currently, I have been composing and recording songs with very bad equipment but trying to make it as best as I can. I have tried to polish these songs as best I can and I have successfully published these songs on major platforms like Spotify and Apple Music.

I feel proud of this and I have begun investing in better equipment that will help me in the long run even if I don’t pursue music as a career.

--

--