Meet the Intern Making a Homemade Wind Turbine

When not designing sustainable power from scratch, foundry10 intern Blake Riley enjoys watching classic John Hughes films.

foundry10
foundry10 News
2 min readJul 28, 2021

--

Photo by Waldemar Brandt on Unsplash

When COVID-19 shut down the foundry10 office, we took our internship program online. Youth adapted, created, persevered and far exceeded expectations. Learn more about how Virtual Internships Teach Life Skills You Can’t Learn in School and Why You Should Consider Hiring a Virtual Intern.

Foundry10 intern Blake Riley is going into his Junior year of high school at Oak Harbor. This summer, he is making a wind turbine from scratch!

What do you like to do for fun?

For fun I like to work with leather and knives, I welded my own sword and a knife. I have also made many sheaths for knives. I play video games with my friends.

Describe your summer intern project.

My summer internship project is a homemade wind turbine. I wanted to make it by myself without any pre-made kits. The end result will hopefully have a power bank where it can store the electricity it generates.

Blake Riley’s Wind Turbine

So far I’ve enjoyed making the blades and seeing the motor spin the most but the most challenging part was figuring out a design for the base of the turbine.

What is one thing you think most people would be surprised to learn about you?

People would be most surprised to learn that I have a twin sister.

If you could only listen to one song, watch one movie, read one book, and/or play one game for the rest of your life, which ones would you choose?

One song I would listen to would be Carry On My Wayward Son. One movie would be Bill and Teds Excellent Adventure. The one book would be 1984 by George Orwell. One game would be Risk.

If you could design your own school, what would it be like?

My dream high school would the John Hughes high school with the students and teachers from Ferris Bueller’s Day Off, Pretty in Pink, The Breakfast Club, Fast Times at Ridgemont High, Dazed and Confused, Risky Business, The Outsiders, and 16 Candles. I just think that these classic high school films have interesting characters who would make life at high school fun.

--

--

foundry10
foundry10 News

foundry10 is an education research organization with a philanthropic focus on expanding ideas about learning and creating direct value for youth.