Meet the Intern Who Skipped a Trip to Mexico to See the Great American Solar Eclipse

Foundry10 intern Karina Rodriguez is passionate about making EdTech equitable and accessible regardless of race, class, or identity.

foundry10
foundry10 News
3 min readJul 28, 2021

--

Photo: Karina Rodriguez

Foundry10 intern Karina Rodriguez is a recent graduate from the University of Washington Bothell with a degree in UX Design and a minor in education. She is passionate about education technology and ensuring that technology is equitable and accessible regardless of race, class, or identity. She loves the intersections of art and science, which has lead her to work on projects with the ECA and MOPO Museums to develop a curriculum for summer programs to incorporate science and art into creating interactive learning experiences. Her other passions include astronomy, sports, and spending time with her family and friends. Learn more about Karina!

Describe your experience so far as a foundry10 intern. What are you learning?

Foundry10 has been such an amazing experience so far; I’ve gotten to sit in and hear about so many different projects that people are working on, all so incredibly diverse and impactful. I have been working with the STEM and EdTech teams. The research and projects that I have been working on have already given me so many valuable skills and tools; it has given me a new perspective on how these projects impact a community directly. My goal is to continue learning and growing, and I feel fortunate to have gotten the opportunity to learn from and work with such passionate people who have all been so welcoming.

Tell us about your interest in astronomy! What is your favorite galactic fact?

I have always been in love with astronomy; it never ceases to amaze me. Ever since I was little, it has always fascinated me and fueled my love of science and nature.

Astronomy is something that I can never get enough of, so much so that back in 2017, during the Great American Solar Eclipse, my family had planned a trip to Mexico in advance, but I decide not to go, and instead with two other friends made my way to Oregon to get the best possible view in the path of totality. An event like that hadn’t happened in the US since 1979, and it was so amazing to experience; and the next solar eclipse for North America is in April of 2024, so don’t miss out!

“Bad quality iPhone picture from the 2017 eclipse.” — Karina

What are you currently reading/watching/playing?

Currently, I enjoy watching Anime and playing video games during my free time. I have never watched Attack on Titan, so I am watching through that series at the moment and could not be any more invested. I also enjoy playing video games; currently, I play many competitive games like Valorant and Apex Legends, but I also love a good Minecraft session, so you will often find me online playing any of those.

--

--

foundry10
foundry10 News

foundry10 is an education research organization with a philanthropic focus on expanding ideas about learning and creating direct value for youth.