Meet the Tap Dancing Intern On a Mission to Stop Using Microplastics

Foundry10 college intern Anna Finch loves to dance almost as much as she loves learning about marine science.

foundry10
foundry10 News
3 min readJul 28, 2021

--

Anna Finch is going into her third year at the University of Washington and is pursuing a degree in Oceanography and Biochemistry with Interdisciplinary Honors. She is passionate about marine science and plans to research marine pollution in the future. Currently, she is doing undergraduate research regarding microplastics in the Puget Sound. As someone who grew up doing music, theater, and dance, she is also immensely interested in the intersection of education, art, and science. Read on to learn more about Anna!

What is your favorite Marine Science fact?

One of my favorite marine science facts is that microbes living around hydrothermal vents can use chemical energy from the minerals and compounds spewed from the vents to convert carbon dioxide to sugar rather than using light energy. This process is called chemosynthesis, and I think it’s really cool!

Describe your experience so far as a foundry10 intern. What are you learning?

So far I’ve been working on quite a few different projects, including education research and curriculum design projects. I don’t have much of a background in education so I’m learning a lot everyday! In particular, I’ve really enjoyed learning about designing games that can help youth learn about marine science. It’s been great working with and getting to know others at foundry10, and I’m excited to keep learning in my time here!

What is one thing you think most people would be surprised to learn about you?

I used to be a tap dancer! I did a lot of dancing when I was in grade school including tap, ballet, modern, and jazz, but tap was by far my favorite. I did it for over twelve years and I would love to get back into it again sometime!

Tell us about microplastics in Puget Sound. What do you think everyone should know?

This is more general than just pertaining to the Puget Sound, but something that I think is really important to know is that a lot of microplastic pollution comes from synthetic fibers like polyester, acrylic, and nylon that are made of plastic. When we do laundry, these tiny plastic fibers can be washed away into the environment. This is something that’s a less obvious source of microplastic pollution, so I think it’s a good thing to know and stay aware of.

What are you currently reading/watching/playing?

I’m currently reading a manga series called Demon Slayer! It’s about a boy whose family is attacked by demons while he is away, and the only survivor (his sister) is turned into a demon. The story follows him as he becomes a demon slayer and tries to find a way to turn his sister back into a human. It’s really good (albeit very emotional) and I would definitely recommend it!

--

--

foundry10
foundry10 News

foundry10 is an education research organization with a philanthropic focus on expanding ideas about learning and creating direct value for youth.