Discovery is Broken

Jeremy Zilar
The Fountain of Serendipity
3 min readNov 8, 2014

I just read something on the internet.
It was good.

I just read something on the internet.
It was the best thing I’ve read all week, maybe all month.
You should read it too.

I just read something on the internet.
Someone retweeted some guy’s joke that was NOT funny at all. It is sort of unfair to even call it a joke. His picture had a stupid smirk. I don’t know who this guy is but I don’t like him now. I considered unfollowing the person who retweeted him, but didn’t. They sometimes post good things. Strike 1.

I just read something on the internet.
I thought, “Oh come on! Is that the best you can do, seriously?”

I just read something on the internet.
I learned something, though it is doubtful I will ever use that knowledge.

I just read something on the internet.
That person is not funny.

I just read something on the internet.
But first, I read a tweet that was for all intents and purposes a sad piece of marketing copy written by a respectable writer, jammed with hashtags and buried somewhere in there was a link. The piece was ok. It was not what I was expecting.

I just read something on the internet.
It was a total waste of time.

I just read something on the internet.
It was favorited by someone I know, sort of. I mostly see them at conferences. I admire their work, we follow each other, but ultimately they are not that interesting.

I just read something on the internet.
I’ve forgotten what it was already.

I just read something on the internet.
It was a slideshow and the photography was eye candy. I was over it by the time I was on number 14 of 24, but I felt obligated to keep going to the end.

I just read something on the internet.
It was good. I favorited it on Twitter, largely because I wanted to show some manner of appreciation and but it was not good enough to retweet. That appreciation will never reach the original writer.

I just read something on the internet.
Turns out I read it earlier this week.

I just read something on the internet.
Turns out I read it earlier this week, but on another equally annoying publication.

I just read something on the internet.
Turns out this is the same story, just written by a better news organization that was late to the game.

I just read something on the internet.
There is that guy again, retweeting another yuk yuk from that asshole with a smirk. Please go away. Both of you. Strike 2.

I just read something on the internet.
Strike 3. Unfollow.

I just read something on the internet.
It was marketing disguised as helpful information.

I just read something on the internet.
Someone was advocating for something.

I just read something on the internet.
Bleeding hearts all over that thing.

I just read something on the internet.
It was a piece about another story posted on the internet.

I just read something on the internet.
It made me feel cheated.

I just read something on the internet.
It was good. I made the effort to look up the writer on Twitter and follow her.

I just read something on the internet.
Closed it right away.

--

--

Jeremy Zilar
The Fountain of Serendipity

Editorial Strategist, Designer, Engineer, Entrepreneur. Formerly at @nytimes