Fantasy Premier League 20/21 | GW18 Memo

Fantasy Premier League Gameweek 18 Memo, Team Yin AubameYang

David Allen
The FPL Memo
4 min readJan 12, 2021

--

It’s been 6 game weeks since my last update and my rank has continued to improve over that stretch. Causation or correlation? I’m not sure. Is my lack-of-writing helping my team selection? Possibly. Writing out one’s thoughts seems to create this weird demand for analysis for the sake of seeming analytical. I’ll try to avoid that trap today.

Quick update on GW17 and rank:

The team is currently sitting at #1,820,582 out of 7,825,915 — continuing to bounce off the GW8 bottom of 5,688,832. I’m grateful for the improvement.

I have these 10 to thank for my rise of nearly 500,000 spots last gameweek:

82 points from 10, and a GW rank of 236,754. Third best GW rank of the season.

Still, there are some improvements to be made.

I am keen to swap out Zouma after Chelsea’s latest performances. It’s also clear to me that a backup keeper is necessary in these uncertain times, although I don’t know that I’ll spare the funds to bring one in anytime soon.

I don’t like Pope against United, but he’s a nice hedge against a Fernandes blank, since so much of the United offense flows through #18.

Transfers will be focused on inactive Zouma and injured Podence so as to have 11 active this week, if all goes well.

GW18 Team Selection

COVID is disrupting the league again, and fixtures are prone to being postponed. Aston Villa v. Spurs was the latest casuality, with Spurs asset holders benefiting from the substitution of Fulham in for Aston Villa in GW 18, while Aston Villa asset holders are no doubt scrambling to hedge against a blank GW18 and Everton + Manchester City in 19.

So now on to my decision. I’ve got 2 transfers, and 0.6 in the bank. What to do?

I know what the “smart” thing is to do…

❌ Zouma out, ✅ Dias in.

❌ Podence out, ✅ Saka in.

I’d be doubled up on the best defense in the league, with two potent City defensive goal threats in Dias and Cancelo. I’d also have an in-form Saka (2 goals, 2 assists in 3 games).

But I’m also keen to bring in Foden or Gundogan.

But if I bring in either, I can’t bring in Dias as I also own Cancelo and KDB.

So am I crazy to consider Foden/Gundogan and a United defender instead of Dias and Saka? And I crazy to consider Foden/Gundogan and AWB instead of Dias and Saka?

Both Manchesters play in GW18 have double GWs in 19. But will Foden/Gundogan feature in all 3 games? And can United’s defense handle Burnley, Liverpool, and Fulham?

It’s a tough call as I can’t predict the future. But here is what I know:

  • Pep likes to rotate
  • Foden has only started 2 games in the last 10
  • City has the best defense in the league
  • Dias has started every game since GW4.
  • United are spotty at the back
  • Gundogan has started 4 in a row, but that’s his longest streak of the season
  • Saka has started 8 in a row, and Arsenal have won 3 in a row. Probably less at risk of getting rotated than Gundogan or Foden.
  • City has given up less shots on target than United
  • Ederson has a higher save % than De Gea
  • I like Saka and would like to have an active asset playing when I watch Arsenal
  • Dias has scored 9 goals in a little over 3 seasons with Benfica. He is due his first goal in the EPL.

When I started writing out this bullet points, I was leaning towards getting “creative” and bringing in Foden/AWB for Zouma/Podence. Now, I’m going for Dias and Saka.

0.4 left in the bank.

I’ll start like this, with Fernandes getting the Captain’s armband again. Not one player on the bench will be active.

Hoping the momentum continues. Good luck and thanks for reading!

--

--

David Allen
The FPL Memo

Documentation and tutorials on Python, Pandas, Jupyter Notebook, and Data Analysis.