Do I Have Many Lives to Live?- Abhijit Maity

TFR
The Freedom Review
Published in
2 min readOct 1, 2020
Source: Wikiwand

Do I Have Many Lives to Live?

-

Though I have many lives to live,
on this barren land and leafless garden of humanity,
to touch the slimy tongue of time’s lone futurity,
I go on and go on, but in tireless brain I see:
From here to the rest of this unseen world,
How little do things remain wherein I exist!
How trifle to others my life to be!

-

Though I have many tunes to sing,
like the unending ringlets of waves in glee,
to play them in full, each time in vain I tried,
In vain and in vain how many times I tried:

-

And I find the skull of life’s naked shrine.

-

Then, I stand on my boneless feet with forsaken land
and my mind up into the murky air,
I feel, nothing to sing, no life to live, no air to breathe.

-

For, the yelling of these insignificant words,
And the denial of life’s ignorant breaths,
I realize how meaningless everything is
Still we stick to our helpless follies
like a snail on a bent-head leaf,
and to our unquenchable thirst for meanings,

for colour, for happiness, for love;
with distorted images and painful glories
we deny to die, quietly.

ABOUT THE POET

-

Abhijit Maity is an independent researcher from West Bengal, India. Besides reading literature, he is much influenced by the poststructuralist thinkers like Jacques Derrida, Jacques Lacan, Louis Althusser and Michel Foucault. He is currently working as a Lecturer in the Dept. of English Literature and Cultural Studies at Mahishadal Girls’ College, Vidyasagar University.

--

--