Stephen House’s i say no and bar games

TFR
The Freedom Review
Published in
4 min readAug 9, 2020

Acknowledgements

“i say no” commended for Tom Collins Poetry Prize / winner Goolwa Poetry Cup

“bar games (and survival)” adapted excerpt from my stage play “Almost Face To Face” published by Australian Plays / winner Goolwa Poetry Cup

Source: flickr

i say no

-

my shabby room is mine for fifty bucks a week

not far from the beach

away from the main road

the neighbours all seem cool

-

indonesian lady-boy

on the game next door

asks me if i’m working from my room

i say no

the guys that come and go

are for recreational fun

though anything can happen when i’m broke

-

old aussie surfer

once well known

on the other side of my room

asks me if i surf

i say no

i used to

i now do yoga and run and swim

but i might pick up a board again

the waves down there look awesome

-

dutch painter upstairs

functioning ok for an alcoholic

asks me if i paint

i say no

i’m a writer and a wanderer

though i used to dabble in oils

he asks me if i drink

i say no

i use to heavily

but only when i was painting

-

handsome filipino guy

two doors down

asks me if i’m looking for a relationship

i say no

i have one of those somewhere else

i’m into hook ups with nameless strangers

and sex-buddies are good fun too

-

french ice addict

covered in tatts

across the path from me

asks me if i’m wired when my lights are on all night

i say no

i’m straight and sober usually

writing poems until dawn

my drugs of choice are coffee and pot

though i never smoke weed in asia

-

i like my shabby room and life

with the international crowd all around

who are friendly and fascinating

and share some common interests and points of view

the big green sea only five minutes away

when i need to be alone and free

-

and the handsome filipino isn’t only into relationships

i discovered late last night

when he dropped by my shabby room

while the others nearby in their shabby rooms

did whatever they do

Source: Sylvia Jarrus | The State News

bar games (and survival)

-

he has a circle around him at one end of the bar

i have one around me (where i stand) at the other end

we’re not a bad team (him and i)

-

our circles have formed for different reasons

his because they all want him

(or have had him before)

and mine because several of them recognized me

from my poetry performance (outside the train station)

earlier tonight

my words were appreciated by most of them

and here and now i’ve become a (minor) front bar celebrity

-

and one shouldn’t ever look a gift-horse in the mouth

and the gift-horse (happening) is free double vodkas (coming on strong)

-

i start another story about performing in a theatre

in brisbane (true) which drifts into a yarn about a kangaroo

getting into the theatre that no-one could catch (not true)

and they all lean in (fascinated)

and me after ten (or more) drinks can tell a dam good yarn

-

i’m getting restless here so i leave my audience

wander down to him (and his lot)

and ask him if he wants to stay with them

or come upstairs and dance with me

-

he wants to dance

but has found some (well-heeled) trade

so he nips into the disabled toilet

with an excited old trick (on a walking frame)

i get bought a couple of (top shelf) shots

tell another (untrue) tale

and line up a dude (for tomorrow)

-

and when he’s back

we head upstairs

-

and in an all-night club

full of (all night) people

we forget about bar games (and survival)

and dance

(until the sun comes up)

-

ABOUT THE POET

-

Stephen House is an award winning Australian playwright, poet and actor. He’s won two Awgie Awards (Australian Writer’s Guild) , Adelaide Fringe Award, Rhonda Jancovich Poetry Award for Social Justice, Goolwa Poetry Cup, Feast Short Story Prize and more. He’s been shortlisted for Lane Cove Literary Award, Overland’s Fair Australia Fiction Prize, Patrick White Playwright and Queensland Premier Drama Awards, Greenroom best actor Award and more. He’s received Australia Council literature residencies to Ireland and Canada, and an India Asialink. His chapbook “real and unreal” was published by ICOE Press. He is published often and performs his work widely.

--

--