3 Things I Learned Writing Online (Almost) Every Day for 30 Days in a Row

Adam Hillis
The Freedom to Write
2 min readFeb 5, 2023

--

30 days ago, I signed up for Dickie Bush & Nicolas Cole’s cohort-based course, Ship 30 for 30.

In that time, I wrote & published 27 Atomic Essays, learned the fundamentals of Digital Writing, made friends, and gained some clarity on what my niche might be. It’s been a rewarding (and challenging) journey, and I’m more excited than ever to keep writing online.

Here are the 3 biggest things writing & publishing consistently (almost) every day for 30 days taught me:

1. Don’t Miss Twice

I missed 3 days. One was when I hit “publish” and closed my computer. It didn’t actually publish… 🤦 The other two were both just “one of those days.”

Each time I published the next day. Though my streak stopped, I didn’t stop writing. And that’s what kept my momentum. Don’t miss twice.

2. Writing > Editing

As a recovering perfectionist, it was hard to publish without spending TONS of time editing. But I just wrote, did a quick check for grammar and spelling, and shipped.

Getting the work out there is way more important than editing.

3. Listen to Yourself. You’re Probably Right.

At the beginning of my Ship30 journey I planned to write before my kids woke up. I thought I would be able to make myself a morning person.

But I missed a bunch of mornings and had to write before bed to make sure and publish on schedule.

Turns out that worked better for me. I’m not a morning person. Why force it?

If you have been thinking about getting started writing online too, let me know. I’m happy to share more about the experience and what I learned.

--

--

Adam Hillis
The Freedom to Write

Crafting educational email courses for coach/creators || Coaching men to connect w/ their wife & kids, and themselves || I juggle marriage, kids, and words