How Often Should I Check My Medium Stats?

Your writing stats can help you and hurt you

J.R. HEIMBIGNER
The Freedom to Write
3 min readDec 8, 2022

--

Photo by Mike Cho on Unsplash

This is a great question for any emerging writer on Medium.

Heck, it’s not a bad question for the seasoned Medium contributor as well.

I have a simple answer for you on this one question.

It is the answer I tell myself about ten time a day when I want to check my stats. It is really easy though, and if you can take the answer and run with it, you might just come out of this alive.

Are you ready for the answer? Here it is:

Check your Medium stats weekly.

Yep, that’s it. Check all your stats weekly. If you can do this, you will save yourself a lot of heartache and trauma.

But, there is more to this answer.

Not only should you check your stats weekly, you should do this instead:

Analyze your stats monthly.

I got this idea from Tom Kuegler. I think it was an off-hand tweet he sent out sometime in the early fall. But, it changed the way I do things.

Once I stopped looking at my stats daily, I started enjoying writing a little more.

--

--

J.R. HEIMBIGNER
The Freedom to Write

#1 Bestselling Author of 15 books on Amazon | Helping people go from writers to authors, let's chat: https://calendly.com/jrheimbigner/30min