How To Harness The Power Of Social Media With Your Author Platform

7 Options to Help You Grow Your Platform

J.R. HEIMBIGNER
The Freedom to Write
5 min readJun 19, 2023

--

Photo by Adem AY on Unsplash

“Build it, and they will come” only works in the movies. Social Media is a “build it, nurture it, engage them, and they may come and stay.” — Seth Godin

As an author, you want to be active on social media. Your activity is what will determine how useful it will be toward your author platform.

Unfortunately, a lot of people neglect their social media outlets and when it comes time to share your book, it isn’t a useful asset.

I know this has been true for me. As I continue to write and publish books, I have failed to grow this area of my author platform. Because of this, I have definitely missed out on the power of social media to help with sales.

Yet, there is an answer to how you can utilize social media platforms in an effort to raise awareness of your books and help you sell more books too.

I’m going to share seven platforms to consider and then share a generalized strategy on how to grow your platforms on social media to help you get started.

7 Social Media Platforms to Consider

--

--

J.R. HEIMBIGNER
The Freedom to Write

Author of 15 books on Amazon with more on the way. I want to help you write your book: jrheimbigner.substack.com