From the Archives — Palle’s interview

Ankit Yadav
the freestyle works
3 min readApr 8, 2018
The godfather of Airmoves

If your dream is bigger than your fears I’m sure it will eventually become a reality. Keep pushing. Keep dreaming.

-Rickard “Palle” Sjölander

Back in the days when I was just starting out in freestyle football, I always heard one name being said over and over again. It was almost synonymous with freestyle football — ‘PALLE’

The legend, the godfather of air-moves, the creator of PATW, Rickard “Palle” Sjölander was and is the inspiration of thousands of freestylers across the universe.

So here are some extracts from an interview I did with him online a few years back.

Q1. Where were you born and raised ?
A. I was born in Jönköping in Sweden. I was raised close to Jönköping. I grew up on the county side, 10 minutes away from the town ‘Habo’ where I went to school.

Q2. Tell us a little about how you were raised
A. I was raised on the countryside together with my 2 siblings. One older brother and one younger sister. We lived in a really big house with my grand parents as well.

Q3. What inspired you to freestyle as you were one of the very few freestylers that were there at your time ?
A. The idea of being able to do what others couldn’t have always inspired me. The human body is amazing if you let it be. Eventually i saw a football ad on TV which led to the internet. I took a lot of inspiration from football ads in the beginning and then I started to create my own tricks.

Q4. Your trick “Palle around the world” is still considered as one of the most difficult tricks to land. What were your thoughts before and after you landed the first “PATW” ?
A. It was a dream trick. Something I at times thought would be impossible. When i finally landed it the camera had run out of battery and i felt really upset. Later on I landed another one but not as clean. This can still bother me at times. <Chuckles>

Q5. Your favorite music ?
A. I don’t really have one favorite artist. But if i have to say some I’d go with my friends in the band “Partiet” or another good friend of mine “Niello”

Q6. If you were to name any current freestyler as your successor, who would that be ?
A.
I admire Charly and Boyka for their pure skill and the way they move. I admire Gautier for his creativity.

Q7. Do you still practice sometimes ?
A. It goes up and down. Sometimes when my life is not so busy i freestyle quite a lot. And then there is times when I can’t find much time at all. I always try to do something. Just to keep some kind of level. I don’t want to loose it

Q8. What difference do you find in freestylers in your time and the current ones ?
A. I would say the main difference is that when i freestyled in the beginning i create many tricks such as alatw, ahmatw, laatw, ahtatw, most no touch combinations. I created this without knowing if it’s possible. Many people kept telling me to stop because it was impossible. Id like to see that as 2 different words “I’m possible” 😉 today you just look what other freestylers can do and you know deep down in your soul that it is possible. That makes a huge difference

Q9. We have a huge following of yours in India. If you could please say a few words of advice for the freestylers out here ?
A. I’m happy to hear. I spent a month in your amazing country a couple of years ago and would like to go back one day so I can meet all of you guys.

Remember that freestyle can be either total freedom, something that makes you happy… or it can be total limitation! Choose wisely.

--

--

Ankit Yadav
the freestyle works

A student, freestyle footballer, learner. Co-founder of Freestyle Works. Living in India